With one out in the sixth, Arizona's Chris Snyder hits a grounder to Philadelphia third baseman Pedro Feliz. Feliz throws to Chase Utley at second to force Jeff Salazar. But Utley's relay throw for the double play is dropped by Ryan Howard.
Diamondbacks analyst Mark Grace goes on a small crusade to give Howard an error. "He just dropped it. Who cares if you can't assume the double play?" Play-by-play man Daron Sutton insists "Those are the rules. It's not an error."
Rule 10.12(d) Comment: When a fielder muffs a thrown ball that, if held, would have completed a double play or triple play, the official scorer shall charge an error to the fielder who drops the ball and credit an assist to the fielder who made the throw.