The intricacies of Rule 10.19 apparently eluded the official scorer in Atlanta last night. Originally, the box score showed Atlanta reliever Manny Acosta picking up his third save in Atlanta's 5-2 win over the Padres. However, the Elias Sports Bureau stripped Acosta of his save because he didn't earn it under Rule 10.19.
Acosta retired the final two batters of the game after relieving Will Ohman, however, there were no runners on. Since Acosta did not pitch a complete inning and the lead was more than two runs and there were no runners on base, Acosta's save disappeared into the ether.